This Has Been Absolutely Lovely - Jessica Dettmann

This Has Been Absolutely Lovely

By Jessica Dettmann

  • Release Date: 2021-01-01
  • Genre: Family
  • Size: 2.16 MB
Score: 4
4
From 123 Ratings

Alternative Downloads

Server Link Speed
Mirror [#1] This Has Been Absolutely Lovely.pdf 39,944 KB/Sec
Mirror [#2] This Has Been Absolutely Lovely.pdf 41,645 KB/Sec
Mirror [#3] This Has Been Absolutely Lovely.pdf 45,530 KB/Sec

Description

Family is forever, and there's nothing you can do about it.
The charming, hilarious and all-too-relatable new novel from the author of How to be Second Best
'Dettmann nails the funny, sad and bizarre nuances of family life in this gripping novel that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and Marian Keyes' Sally Hepworth

Molly's a millennial home organiser about to have her first baby. Obviously her mum, Annie, will help with the childcare. Everyone else's parents are doing it.

But Annie's dreams of music stardom have been on hold for thirty-five years, paused by childbirth then buried under her responsibilities as a mother, wage earner, wife, and only child of ailing parents. Finally, she can taste freedom.

As Molly and her siblings gather in the close quarters of the family home over one fraught summer, shocking revelations come to light. Everyone is forced to confront the question of what it means to be a family.

This Has Been Absolutely Lovely is a story about growing up and giving in, of parents and children, of hope and failure, of bravery and defied expectation, and whether it is ever too late to try again.

'A pure joy to read from the first page to the last - lots of heart and emotion, but with a perfect amount of humour. My only complaint is that I didn't write it myself!' Rachael Johns, bestelling author

'Hilarious, poignant, and a genuine page-turner. Dettmann's tone is addictively dry and often laugh-out-loud funny, but the family drama that unfolds is a proper yarn, with lovely dramatic twists and gorgeous revelations and resolutions.' Tim Minchin

'Witty, warm, sharp and sincere. An absolutely lovely read.' Book'd Out

Praise for Jessica Dettmann:

'A totally engaging and disarmingly charming writer' Kathy Lette

'A natural knack for humour' Better Reading

'Ultimate summer read' Herald Sun

'Heartwarming yet biting' Sunday Telegraph

'Sharp and crisp and funny. I was dazzled.' Mia Freedman

keyboard_arrow_up