Unorthodox - Deborah Feldman

Unorthodox

By Deborah Feldman

  • Release Date: 2012-02-14
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • Size: 3.31 MB
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 89 Ratings

Alternative Downloads

Server Link Speed
Mirror [#1] Unorthodox.pdf 24,675 KB/Sec
Mirror [#2] Unorthodox.pdf 45,661 KB/Sec
Mirror [#3] Unorthodox.pdf 20,325 KB/Sec

Description

Now a Netflix original series!

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this “sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story” (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won’t be able to put down.

Reviews

  • Heartbreaking yet inspirational

    5
    By Jedihouse
    An amazing read which follows a young girls journey into womanhood. Should be compulsory reading for all girls off all ages and ethnicity. Proof that you can overcome anything in your life even if you believe it is your original fate. I hope it gives courage and determination to all who read. Deborah you have found your place in this world thank you for having the courage to do what you have done. A must read.... Would give it 10/10 stars if possible

keyboard_arrow_up